All People can get involved

What we do

The mission of UT Health San Antonio’s Military Health Institute (MHI) is to enhance the collaborative efforts of the university with local, state and federal government and non-governmental organizations to improve the health and resiliency of our nation’s military service members, veterans and their families through advances in education, research and health care.

With an average of over $15 million in DoD-funded research annually, UT Health San Antonio has a well-deserved reputation for working with the DoD and VA. The university’s key areas of strength with respect to research with the DoD and VA include:

  • Behavioral Health – post-traumatic stress disorder, pain and substance use disorders
  • Trauma – traumatic brain and blast injuries, burns, blood and coagulation research
  • Cancer – liver, breast, prostate and others